June 15th, 2013

Today at Fircrest Park’s Pavilion, the Tacoma Narrows Rotary Club gathered for the annual charter event celebrating the works of the previous presidency and welcoming new leadership.



Each year one club member is selected by the President to receive the Rotarian of the Year award.  The award recognizes members who exemplify the motto “Service Above Self” in their work with the club.

This year, President Pat Johnson and Asst. District Governor Scott Seitz awarded Karol Whealdon-Andrews with the Rotarian of the Year award.  “Karol served on the Board of Directors and was the chairperson of the Dinner/Auction event in April. She is tireless in her support of the Tacoma Narrows Rotary. “

Karol’s leadership at the Club’s Dinner/Auction brought a record-breaking $100,000+ in this signature annual fundraising event.

About Tacoma Narrows Rotary:

Tacoma Narrows Rotary was founded in 1970 and serves Fircrest & University Place as well as engaging in projects around the world supporting Rotary International’s 5 Avenues of Service:  Club Service, Vocational Service, Community Service, International Service, and New Generations Service.

Tacoma Narrows Rotary Club meets on Tuesdays at the Fircrest Golf and Country Club in Fircrest, WA.  For more information please visit www.tacomanarrowsrotary.org/